Learn.   Collaborate.   Advance. 


  Home      Presentations      Agenda      Speaker Bios      Sponsorship      Participants      Venue      Contact


Sponsors & Partners:

Headline Sponsor:

5-Star Sponsor:

4-Star Sponsor:

3-Star Sponsors:

2-Star Sponsors:

Supporting Partners:

Media Partners:



> Agenda Finalized!
> DOD's Charles Kosak (Defense Continuity and Mission Assurance) Announced
> DHS's Caitlin Durkovich Announced to Speak
> DOE's Michael Knotek and Jonathan Pershing Join Symposium Lineup

ACCO's 4th annual Defense, National Security & Climate Change Symposium will focus upon the growing efforts of U.S. defense, intelligence and national security communities to assess and respond to climate change. With continued executive mandates, a second quadrennial report citing climate change as a national security threat, and a suite of growing challenges and stresses related to geopolitics, natural resource availability and extreme events, climate change is front and center as a national security issue.  This event brings together experts in these communities to highlight key issues, discuss future challenges and collaborate on solutions.

Charles Kosak
Deputy Assistant Secretary
of Defense for Defense Continuity and Mission Assurance
U.S. Department of Defense


Kate Brandt
Federal Chief
Sustainability Officer
White House Council on Environmental Quality


Caitlin Durkovich
Assistant Secretary for Infrastructure Protection
U.S. Department of Homeland Security


Michael Knotek
Deputy Under Secretary for Science and Energy
U.S. Department of Energy

Jonathan Pershing
Principal Deputy Director of the Office of Energy Policy and Systems Analysis
U.S. Department of Energy


Donald Schregardus
Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Navy (Environment)
U.S. Navy


Tom Morehouse
Special Advisor, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
U.S. Department of Energy


Lou Hutchinson
Chief Revenue Officer
WGL Holdings, Inc.

Agenda Steering Committee

  • Andrew Holland Senior Fellow for Energy and Climate, American Security Project
  • Daniel Kreeger Executive Director, Association of Climate Change Officers
  • Maribeth Malloy Director of Environmental Sustainability & External Engagement, Lockheed Martin Corporation
  • Jeff Marqusee Chief Scientist, Enterprise Engineering and Environment, Noblis
  • Mary Munson Executive Director, Coastal States Organization
  • RADM David Titley (ret.) Director, Center for Solutions to Weather and Climate Risk, Penn State University
  • Mark Sutherland Senior Analyst, Marstel-Day
  • Caitlin Werrell Co-Director, Center for Climate and Security